Bermuda can't see Wheaton run out of bounds...
http://www.nfl.com/videos/pittsburgh-steelers/0ap3000000398859/Wheaton-TD-nullified
http://www.nfl.com/videos/pittsburgh-steelers/0ap3000000398859/Wheaton-TD-nullified
Right around the :17-:18 mark, when he plants his foot to make the turn, the heel is touching the sideline.
Here's my analysis: the refs ****** that play up in every way imaginable...
Bermuda can't see Wheaton run out of bounds...
http://www.nfl.com/videos/pittsburgh-steelers/0ap3000000398859/Wheaton-TD-nullified
Spilt Milk, good teams overcome the bad calls. Why didn't the play get challenged by the Steelers
Good Lord he's talking in the third person again.
I realize no amount of complaining about it will make it a TD now, but I'm just more interested in understanding the rules and finding out what the "correct" call is in the League's eyes. What does "re-establish in bounds" mean? Does anyone at the League office think this was the wrong call? Will the officiating crews receive training or discipline as a result?
And I think one of the commentators made a comment as the whole thing was going on that because it was an automatic review of a potential scoring play, the Steelers could not challenge.
According to an NFL ref I know "re-establish" means just getting both feet back in bounds before touching the ball. Nothing more.
All the NFL needs to do is hold the officials accountable. The Line judge that made the "illegal touch" based on "re-establishment" instead of the clear PI call should be bounced from the NFL ranks and next man up. A call or lack of a call like that could cost a team a game. In this case it didn't but what if this was a PO game or the SB? FAK him, let that douche ref. Pee Wee if he can hack it.