Given the explanation by the referee that the receiver stepped out of bounds but did not re-establish position in the field of play prior to the catch, I still don't see how it wasn't a touchdown. Arguably, Wheaton's foot is on the sideline inside the end zone at one point, but it was before he even turned around to look for the ball. He actually turns around, taps both feet inbounds in the front corner of the end zone, catches the ball and drags both feet inbounds as he falls. I take it this is another of those bullshit subjective rules like "makes a football move" where the officials can justify anything they want.
And I still don't get how the official standing less than 5 yards away and looking right at the play signaled touchdown, but was overruled by someone who had to have been in no better position to make the call that was eventually enforced on the play.