• Please be aware we've switched the forums to their own URL. (again) You'll find the new website address to be www.steelernationforum.com Thanks
  • Please clear your private messages. Your inbox is close to being full.

NON - Intentional grounding calls in 4th Quarter

There were actually 3 of these plays ... One was for the safety and the other 2 were in the next series ..

Still confuses me .. So many other plays were nullified as offsetting --
 
WTF was the "it was not intentional grounding because the RB was being held" non call? Now they are guessing that if the RB wasn't held, he may have been in the area where the QB spiked the ball. I swear they make **** up as they go, just like adding 5 yards to the end of a play for defensive holding. Wasn't there a holding call against the Colts that the Steelers declined and took 2 and short instead of 1st and 5 because of the field position?

Should have been offsetting calls - we did hold and Luck grounded the ball to prevent the sack (several times)...
 
When it comes to intentional grounding, ANY penalty that involves impeding a receivers route, defensive holding of a receiver, illegal contact of a receiver, etc will nullify intentional grounding. The reason is that had that receiver not been interfered with, the ball would have been thrown that way. That is the way the rule has always been applied. That was the way the rule was enforced on Sunday as well. They were all the correct calls..
 
When it comes to intentional grounding, ANY penalty that involves impeding a receivers route, defensive holding of a receiver, illegal contact of a receiver, etc will nullify intentional grounding. The reason is that had that receiver not been interfered with, the ball would have been thrown that way. That is the way the rule has always been applied. That was the way the rule was enforced on Sunday as well. They were all the correct calls..

Thanks for the clarification. I wasn't aware that interference of any kind negated the grounding.
 
Last edited:
In each case I think the refs ruled correctly according to the letter of the rule. But - as to the spirit of the rule - Luck was clearly just dumping the ball away to avoid a sack.
 
They were the right call, but I absolutely hate that QBs can throw the ball five miles out of bounds or spike it directly into the ground "with a receiver in the area." Sorry, but an obvious attempt at grounding should still be a flag.
 
I can't recall a game, ever, where a single QB threw more intentional grounding/throw-aways in a single game than this game. Kudos to the defense for bringing the pressure.
 
There was one call where luck was scrambling, was a yard short, we were called for a penalty, and the result was they tagged 5 yards on the result of the run. I thought it was one or the other.
 
Top