Sorry but that makes no sense. What eligible receiver was in the area he was throwing to? That is the rule, not "what defender touched the ball."
Maybe it doesn't, still doesn't change what happened. Even the commentators said the same thing I did. I didn't say I agreed with it either. Just what the official thought he saw.They probably thought it was in the item 2 category. But it doesn't really matter.
Summary From The Official NFL Rule Book - Rule 8, Section 2
In the NFL Rule Book, intentional grounding occurs when "a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion."
There are three situations, outlined in the rule book, in which intentional grounding should not be called:
ITEM 1: PASSER OR BALL OUTSIDE TACKLE POSITION
Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the tackle position throws a forward pass t
hat lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or endline).
ITEM 2: PHYSICAL CONTACT
Intentional grounding should not be called if the passer initiates his passing motion toward an eligible receiver and then is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the pass to land in an area that is not in the direction and vicinity of an eligible receiver; or the passer is out of the pocket, and his passing motion is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the ball to land short of the line of scrimmage.
ITEM 3: STOPPING THE CLOCK
A player under center is permitted to stop the game clock legally to save time if, immediately upon receiving the snap, he begins a continuous throwing motion and throws the ball directly into the ground.