• Please be aware we've switched the forums to their own URL. (again) You'll find the new website address to be www.steelernationforum.com Thanks
  • Please clear your private messages. Your inbox is close to being full.

Game Balls, Game Goats & FU's........@ Lions

FYI on Harrison, they are saving him for December and January. Get your panties out of a bunch about him not playing. He's 39. He ain't gonna be on the field the whole game to cover up for Jarvis. Watt is the the current and the future at ROLB.

Not only that- but they were dropping both Watt and Dupree into coverage a BUNCH.

In which case, Harrison probably isnt the OLB you want having to drop back.
 
Sorry but that makes no sense. What eligible receiver was in the area he was throwing to? That is the rule, not "what defender touched the ball."


Maybe it doesn't, still doesn't change what happened. Even the commentators said the same thing I did. I didn't say I agreed with it either. Just what the official thought he saw.They probably thought it was in the item 2 category. But it doesn't really matter.

Summary From The Official NFL Rule Book - Rule 8, Section 2

In the NFL Rule Book, intentional grounding occurs when "a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion."

There are three situations, outlined in the rule book, in which intentional grounding should not be called:

ITEM 1: PASSER OR BALL OUTSIDE TACKLE POSITION
Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the tackle position throws a forward pass t
hat lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or endline).

ITEM 2: PHYSICAL CONTACT
Intentional grounding should not be called if the passer initiates his passing motion toward an eligible receiver and then is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the pass to land in an area that is not in the direction and vicinity of an eligible receiver; or the passer is out of the pocket, and his passing motion is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the ball to land short of the line of scrimmage.

ITEM 3: STOPPING THE CLOCK
A player under center is permitted to stop the game clock legally to save time if, immediately upon receiving the snap, he begins a continuous throwing motion and throws the ball directly into the ground.
 
Sorry, but it was a bad pass. DHB was un-freaking-covered. Have to hit him for the TD.

Rogers should have caught the ball as it hit both his hands. It looked like DHB ran the same route, was at the same spot, was wide open as well, and Roethlisberger just overthrew him.
I'm just relaying the message. Still we left two other TDs out there with the Eli drop and AB penalty.

Sent from my XT1585 using Steeler Nation mobile app
 
Not only that- but they were dropping both Watt and Dupree into coverage a BUNCH.

In which case, Harrison probably isnt the OLB you want having to drop back.
Which was a dumb game plan, did the same thing vs NE last year, you can drop 10 guys into coverage, and it won't matter.

Sent from my XT1585 using Steeler Nation mobile app
 
Ya, that hit after the throw to Bell would have drawn a flag for damn near any other QB in the league.

All to deaf ears. The favoritism towards Marcia is ridiculous. It is known that the Steelers report every late hit to Ben to the league office. I hope they send tape of hits to Brady which results in flags as comparisons.
 
Our player hit the ball, if he had not it would have been grounding.Stafford got lucky on that one.
I guess you could say our player hit it but what really happened is Stafford threw it at his legs. He wasn't throwing to one of his players. He threw it at the defender to avoid the sack. Period. Easy for anyone to see that. And, that is intentional grounding. If that is legal, then every QB should just throw the ball at the defender about to sack them or any defender for that matter.
 
Maybe it doesn't, still doesn't change what happened. Even the commentators said the same thing I did. I didn't say I agreed with it either. Just what the official thought he saw.They probably thought it was in the item 2 category. But it doesn't really matter.

Summary From The Official NFL Rule Book - Rule 8, Section 2

In the NFL Rule Book, intentional grounding occurs when "a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion."

There are three situations, outlined in the rule book, in which intentional grounding should not be called:

ITEM 1: PASSER OR BALL OUTSIDE TACKLE POSITION
Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the tackle position throws a forward pass t
hat lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or endline).

ITEM 2: PHYSICAL CONTACT
Intentional grounding should not be called if the passer initiates his passing motion toward an eligible receiver and then is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the pass to land in an area that is not in the direction and vicinity of an eligible receiver; or the passer is out of the pocket, and his passing motion is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the ball to land short of the line of scrimmage.

ITEM 3: STOPPING THE CLOCK
A player under center is permitted to stop the game clock legally to save time if, immediately upon receiving the snap, he begins a continuous throwing motion and throws the ball directly into the ground.
Based on the rule as you outlined it, it was definitely grounding. He was facing imminent loss. He and the ball were not out of the tackle box. His passing motion was not impeded. He threw it right at the defenders legs. And, he wasn't trying to stop the clock. Text book intentional grounding. I think people got confused because he threw it right at the defender (not to or toward a potential receiver). This isn't the NBA where you can bounce the ball of a guy as you are falling out of bounds so you can keep the ball.
 
Maybe it doesn't, still doesn't change what happened. Even the commentators said the same thing I did. I didn't say I agreed with it either. Just what the official thought he saw.They probably thought it was in the item 2 category. But it doesn't really matter.

Summary From The Official NFL Rule Book - Rule 8, Section 2

In the NFL Rule Book, intentional grounding occurs when "a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion."

There are three situations, outlined in the rule book, in which intentional grounding should not be called:

ITEM 1: PASSER OR BALL OUTSIDE TACKLE POSITION
Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the tackle position throws a forward pass t
hat lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or endline).

ITEM 2: PHYSICAL CONTACT
Intentional grounding should not be called if the passer initiates his passing motion toward an eligible receiver and then is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the pass to land in an area that is not in the direction and vicinity of an eligible receiver; or the passer is out of the pocket, and his passing motion is significantly affected by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the ball to land short of the line of scrimmage.

ITEM 3: STOPPING THE CLOCK
A player under center is permitted to stop the game clock legally to save time if, immediately upon receiving the snap, he begins a continuous throwing motion and throws the ball directly into the ground.

#2 would not undo the grounding. The physical contact is referring to a defender hitting the QB or the ball, causing some flare to drop into an area with no eligible receiver. It does NOT refer to a QB about to be dropped for a 12-yard loss due to bad snap just firing the ball sidearm, and about 6" off the ground, at which point it hits the defender.

Terrible, terrible, terrible non-call. Embarrassing.
 
Hard to argue with those. Whole defense had poor tackling till the redzone.

I'll give an FU to Butler for a screwed up scheme
Well no sheet, you can't throw 30 yards down field from the 2 yard line!
 
#2 would not undo the grounding. The physical contact is referring to a defender hitting the QB or the ball, causing some flare to drop into an area with no eligible receiver. It does NOT refer to a QB about to be dropped for a 12-yard loss due to bad snap just firing the ball sidearm, and about 6" off the ground, at which point it hits the defender.

Terrible, terrible, terrible non-call. Embarrassing.

You win. Every official on the field missed it. Every sports show missed and the announcers on tv missed it.
 
Top