• Please be aware we've switched the forums to their own URL. (again) You'll find the new website address to be www.steelernationforum.com Thanks
  • Please clear your private messages. Your inbox is close to being full.

Yeah, dead horse I know, but did they really get the call correct?

The three minute plus debate by those watching replays somewhere other than Heinz Field is curious. What were they debating and why did it take so long? With so much video "evidence" pointing to a controlled completed pass and TD, what did they base their decision to interpret the rule using a "survive the ground" basis?

They were viewing replays to see if James was down by contact before he crossed the goal line. They spent a considerable amount of time looking at only this. It wasn't until very late in the replay review that they began to look at the ball. Again, they were looking for a reason to overturn the call, it's the only explanation for taking that long to make a call.
 
NFL still trying to explain the wrong call makes it worse in their explanation.
See the bolded underline below and then tell me they made the right call.

https://247sports.com/nfl/pittsburg...10-point-favorites-on-Christmas-Day-112638787
NFL, Al Riveron continue to defend Jesse James' overturn
The NFL's VP of Officiating said that James did not "survive the ground" in his eyes and that's why the touchdown was overturned.
Bryan DeArdo - 83 minutes ago 0
xx
Jesse James did not "survive the ground" in his eyes and that's why the touchdown was overturned.

That's according to NFL VP Officiating Al Riveron, who ultimately made the decision to overturn James' touchdown on Sunday night. Riveron once again defended his decision during a conference call with the media on Thursday.

“In this situation, it was not necessarily a football move,” Riveron said, via ProFootballTalk.com. “It was going to the ground. Any time you’re going to the ground, whether it’s on your own, whether you’re contacted by an opponent, or whether you’re contacted by a teammate, you must survive the ground.

"What does that mean? That means once you make initial contact with the ground, you must have control of the football before it touched the ground. In this situation, yes, his knee goes down. But we know Sunday football, the knee going down, you are still live and can do whatever you want with the football as opposed to college football.

"So, yes, the knee was down, he does make another move where he’s reaching for pay dirt. Once he reaches for pay dirt, he loses control of the football. Before he regains control of the football, it touches the ground. Therefore, it was an incomplete pass. This is not so much about a football move, it’s about going to the ground. In the process of going to the ground, you must survive the ground via having control of the football upon the initial contact with the ground.”

While he continued to defend his decision, Riveron failed to answer the real question: Did he actually have enough evidence to overturn the call on the field? He had to have "indisputable evidence" that James did not cleanly possess the ball on his way to the ground, something that is still questionable given this photo of the play that emerged this week.

View image on Twitter
View image on Twitter

Brian Kunst
@BrianLeeStudios
Here's my view/ photos of the "drop". Sure looks like his right hand was under the ball the whole time, but thats just my opinion. #itwasacatch

�� Brian Kunst#catch #nocatch #touchdown #robbed #steelers #steelersnation #Pittsburgh #football #nfl #pro #controversy

9:10 PM - Dec 20, 2017
140 140 Replies 769 769 Retweets 1,030 1,030 likes
Twitter Ads info and privacy

Riveron also needs to explain how he ruled this play involving Patriots' receiver Brandin Cooks a touchdown back in Week 4.

View image on TwitterView image on TwitterView image on Twitter

William King
@will_king721
This is the Brandin Cooks "touchdown" that beat the Texans in the final seconds. Also here is the explanation for why Jesse James didn't score a touchdown. Something just doesn't add up here @NFL

10:12 AM - Dec 18, 2017
3 3 Replies 7 7 Retweets 12 12 likes
Twitter Ads info and privacy
It's clear that the NFL needs to give the Steelers and Steeler Nation more answers. It's also clear that, if they face New England again, Pittsburgh needs to beat them defiantly while not leaving the outcome of the game in the hands of the officials.
 
NFL still trying to explain the wrong call makes it worse in their explanation.
See the bolded underline below and then tell me they made the right call.

https://247sports.com/nfl/pittsburg...10-point-favorites-on-Christmas-Day-112638787
NFL, Al Riveron continue to defend Jesse James' overturn
The NFL's VP of Officiating said that James did not "survive the ground" in his eyes and that's why the touchdown was overturned.
Bryan DeArdo - 83 minutes ago 0
xx
Jesse James did not "survive the ground" in his eyes and that's why the touchdown was overturned.

That's according to NFL VP Officiating Al Riveron, who ultimately made the decision to overturn James' touchdown on Sunday night. Riveron once again defended his decision during a conference call with the media on Thursday.

“In this situation, it was not necessarily a football move,” Riveron said, via ProFootballTalk.com. “It was going to the ground. Any time you’re going to the ground, whether it’s on your own, whether you’re contacted by an opponent, or whether you’re contacted by a teammate, you must survive the ground.

"What does that mean? That means once you make initial contact with the ground, you must have control of the football before it touched the ground. In this situation, yes, his knee goes down. But we know Sunday football, the knee going down, you are still live and can do whatever you want with the football as opposed to college football.

"So, yes, the knee was down, he does make another move where he’s reaching for pay dirt. Once he reaches for pay dirt, he loses control of the football. Before he regains control of the football, it touches the ground. Therefore, it was an incomplete pass. This is not so much about a football move, it’s about going to the ground. In the process of going to the ground, you must survive the ground via having control of the football upon the initial contact with the ground.”

While he continued to defend his decision, Riveron failed to answer the real question: Did he actually have enough evidence to overturn the call on the field? He had to have "indisputable evidence" that James did not cleanly possess the ball on his way to the ground, something that is still questionable given this photo of the play that emerged this week.

View image on Twitter
View image on Twitter

Brian Kunst
@BrianLeeStudios
Here's my view/ photos of the "drop". Sure looks like his right hand was under the ball the whole time, but thats just my opinion. #itwasacatch

�� Brian Kunst#catch #nocatch #touchdown #robbed #steelers #steelersnation #Pittsburgh #football #nfl #pro #controversy

9:10 PM - Dec 20, 2017
140 140 Replies 769 769 Retweets 1,030 1,030 likes
Twitter Ads info and privacy

Riveron also needs to explain how he ruled this play involving Patriots' receiver Brandin Cooks a touchdown back in Week 4.

View image on TwitterView image on TwitterView image on Twitter

William King
@will_king721
This is the Brandin Cooks "touchdown" that beat the Texans in the final seconds. Also here is the explanation for why Jesse James didn't score a touchdown. Something just doesn't add up here @NFL

10:12 AM - Dec 18, 2017
3 3 Replies 7 7 Retweets 12 12 likes
Twitter Ads info and privacy
It's clear that the NFL needs to give the Steelers and Steeler Nation more answers. It's also clear that, if they face New England again, Pittsburgh needs to beat them defiantly while not leaving the outcome of the game in the hands of the officials.

There's a good discussion thread on this over at PFT.

http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.co...g-again-doesnt-mention-replay-standard-again/
 
Does it matter that the ball moved when he has his hand under the ball the entire time?

https://twitter.com/BrianLeeStudios/status/943664972223131648

DRiSRoDVoAMflRu.jpg

Yeah it would matter if it was true.

Those are two frames from completely different points in the sequence. When you watch it in slow mo there is a point when the ball spins because of his left hand coming up.

At that point his right hand is on the SIDE of the ball.....unless James has magical powers that defy physics he has lost possession, you can see it clearly.

You guys are turning into those Cardinal fans who would also play with frames to prove Holmes didn't catch that TD in SB 43........

It's what losers do, let it go he didn't catch it.
 
Yeah it would matter if it was true.

Those are two frames from completely different points in the sequence. When you watch it in slow mo there is a point when the ball spins because of his left hand coming up.

At that point his right hand is on the SIDE of the ball.....unless James has magical powers that defy physics he has lost possession, you can see it clearly.

You guys are turning into those Cardinal fans who would also play with frames to prove Holmes didn't catch that TD in SB 43........

It's what losers do, let it go he didn't catch it.

Wait, so you're saying those two pictures aren't from the same moment? Dang, I must be an idiot...
 
But one thing is a fact Eli was held and it blatantly wasn't called.



SEE this right here is what all the ******* talking heads aren't talking about. That combined with the one handed TD of #10 because his second hand was held behind him BLATANTLY and NO flags........... It was clearly visible in both plays obviously Bryant's was a TD but a flag should have been present. Eli's was flag material 101, easy as pie but then it would have made another chance for the STEELERS to overcome what they suppressed with the James no TD call. The cheaters get special treatment and that is what MOST fans are mad about, a fair loss and no one would still be talking about this cheating ******* favoritism bull ****.

IN HONOR of steelerfan


**** the cheating ******** and especially the UGGh wearing woman man



Salute the nation
 
Unca Al somehow came up with conclusive proof. It took him forever and a day and repeatedly changing stories about how and why he called it as he did, but by God - never let it be said Unca Al didn't come through for the P*ts. Again.
 
But one thing is a fact Eli was held and it blatantly wasn't called.



SEE this right here is what all the ******* talking heads aren't talking about. That combined with the one handed TD of #10 because his second hand was held behind him BLATANTLY and NO flags........... It was clearly visible in both plays obviously Bryant's was a TD but a flag should have been present. Eli's was flag material 101, easy as pie but then it would have made another chance for the STEELERS to overcome what they suppressed with the James no TD call. The cheaters get special treatment and that is what MOST fans are mad about, a fair loss and no one would still be talking about this cheating ******* favoritism bull ****.

IN HONOR of steelerfan


**** the cheating ******** and especially the UGGh wearing woman man



Salute the nation
 
http://boston.cbslocal.com/2017/05/...cant-role-in-leagues-fumbling-of-deflategate/


Oh Al was the ref that wasn't believing the deflated balls accusations. And headed the testing of the balls, he took on by himself.


This guy the more and more I dig, is on the take.


NFL.......101.................... To much money to let fate determine outcome.

The NFL is trying to make you think they are legitamite by having the perception of neutral officials, then they put this guy in place. JOKE




Salute the nation
 
Had a woman come into my pharmacy yesterday that I had never seen before. She had all kinds of Steeler garb on.
Picture her as Flip Wilson portraying Geraldine Jones, for those of you old enough to remember.

So in the middle of counseling her on her prescription I slipped in the question, was it a catch? She stared at me for a moment, then said damn right it was, don't get me started!

Had a good conversation asking where each of us was from. She was from Washington and me from Murrysville. We're everywhere, and the season is far from over.
 
NFL.......101.................... To much money to let fate determine outcome.

The NFL is trying to make you think they are legitamite by having the perception of neutral officials, then they put this guy in place. JOKE




Salute the nation


put down the eggnog, DIC. your child-like fascination with conspiracy isn't doing you any favors.
 
Meh as ive said before, the initial contact rule was supposed to apply to a wr diving for a ball and initial contact was just that... the knee should have sufficed, but they screwed up the interpretation of the rule years ago... in any case there is no definitive shot if the ball touching the ground.. there is one that looks like it may have from the back angle, but not from the front angle... there was no absolute way to determine it did, and you don't assume that just because it could have... no still shot showing it touch beyond a reasonable doubt and the ruling on the field stands... or not... i mean the league does what it wants anyhow
 
By rule maybe. But there was not enough VE to over turn it
 
Does it matter that the ball moved when he has his hand under the ball the entire time?

https://twitter.com/BrianLeeStudios/status/943664972223131648

DRiSRoDVoAMflRu.jpg

That picture proves what i thought happened. James never "lost" the ball, it just rolled over in his hands as his hands reversed position after contact with the ground but his other hand stayed under the ground. He never lost possession. The ball is allowed to touch the ground so long as the player has possession before the ball touches and maintains it after it touches.

The shot proving James's hand is under the ball proves he kept possession. It may have never touched the ground at all. That was merely an assumption that was made because the ball rotated in his hands.

These reviews have gone too far. The call on the field is only supposed to be overturned if it there is 100% proof, not a good guess.

The call vs Bills took it to another level where now there's no proof needed at all. It's just whatever Al Riveron feels in his gut.
 
That picture proves what i thought happened. James never "lost" the ball, it just rolled over in his hands as his hands reversed position after contact with the ground but his other hand stayed under the ground. He never lost possession. The ball is allowed to touch the ground so long as the player has possession before the ball touches and maintains it after it touches.

The shot proving James's hand is under the ball proves he kept possession. It may have never touched the ground at all. That was merely an assumption that was made because the ball rotated in his hands.

These reviews have gone too far. The call on the field is only supposed to be overturned if it there is 100% proof, not a good guess.

The call vs Bills took it to another level where now there's no proof needed at all. It's just whatever Al Riveron feels in his gut.

This picture is misleading. His right hand was always on the ball, when he hit the ground, it was on the side of the ball when the ball bounced off the turf. He then slid his right hand under the ball after that moment.
 
bah blah blah Jesse James

Crickets Eli Rogers held bye the back of the jersey, which led to the INT.
 
Top