• Please be aware we've switched the forums to their own URL. (again) You'll find the new website address to be www.steelernationforum.com Thanks
  • Please clear your private messages. Your inbox is close to being full.

Wheaton TD penalty

Hines57

F Ogurr
Contributor
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
5,828
Reaction score
4,864
Points
113
Location
SoCal
So if there's a penalty for an illegal touch, should have been a flag + 5 yards and replay the down. Refs ****** that hard. Better yet, why not let the play stand as is, review it via replay because ALL scoring plays are reviewed and if they deem he stepped out of bounds prior to the catch they can overturn the play. Really ****** job on this penalty. Also should have been defensive PI or holding for the push.
 
Given the explanation by the referee that the receiver stepped out of bounds but did not re-establish position in the field of play prior to the catch, I still don't see how it wasn't a touchdown. Arguably, Wheaton's foot is on the sideline inside the end zone at one point, but it was before he even turned around to look for the ball. He actually turns around, taps both feet inbounds in the front corner of the end zone, catches the ball and drags both feet inbounds as he falls. I take it this is another of those bullshit subjective rules like "makes a football move" where the officials can justify anything they want.

And I still don't get how the official standing less than 5 yards away and looking right at the play signaled touchdown, but was overruled by someone who had to have been in no better position to make the call that was eventually enforced on the play.
 
Questionable call...........

But i have to say im very impressed with Wheaton and his hands and his footwork is remarkable. Cant block worth **** but hes gettin the job done as the #2 guy. Hes settled down quite a bit since last year and this preseason and is becoming quite reliable.
 
if he was out of bounds it was because of the defender dry humping him
 
Given the explanation by the referee that the receiver stepped out of bounds but did not re-establish position in the field of play prior to the catch, I still don't see how it wasn't a touchdown. Arguably, Wheaton's foot is on the sideline inside the end zone at one point, but it was before he even turned around to look for the ball. He actually turns around, taps both feet inbounds in the front corner of the end zone, catches the ball and drags both feet inbounds as he falls. I take it this is another of those bullshit subjective rules like "makes a football move" where the officials can justify anything they want.

And I still don't get how the official standing less than 5 yards away and looking right at the play signaled touchdown, but was overruled by someone who had to have been in no better position to make the call that was eventually enforced on the play.

Exactly...it was TOTAL BS that the TD was overturned...
 
The rule is the player must get both feet or other body part fully in bounds. Otherwise it's incomplete. Wheaton must have had one foot still up in the air from coming back in bounds from out and therefore not a catch. That's probably what the ref in the back in the end zone saw and why he through his hat down to mark the spot. I did not see any replays of those details so I don't know if that was correct or not.
 
Well, he's getting closer to a TD - is this the week I should pick him up?
 
wheaton.JPGI'm not sure how large this pic will be, but this is BEFORE he leaves his feet to make the catch, ball in the air, about a foot or two from his hands.

So in short, the whole "He didn't establish himself in bounds" is pure and utter bullshit. Looks pretty ******* established to me.
 
The rule is the player must get both feet or other body part fully in bounds. Otherwise it's incomplete. Wheaton must have had one foot still up in the air from coming back in bounds from out and therefore not a catch. That's probably what the ref in the back in the end zone saw and why he through his hat down to mark the spot. I did not see any replays of those details so I don't know if that was correct or not.

Nope. Watch the replay.

http://sports.yahoo.com/video/pittsburgh-steelers-wide-receiver-markus-044122827.html

As he turns back toward the middle of the field, he makes a distinct tapping/hopping motion with both feet inbounds. Then as he falls out of the sidelines, he drags his feet. The referee's explanation is clearly that he "did not re-establish inbounds before the catch." So my question is, what conditions need to be satisfied in order to "re-establish inbounds" in order for that play to stand as a TD?
 
View attachment 543I'm not sure how large this pic will be, but this is BEFORE he leaves his feet to make the catch, ball in the air, about a foot or two from his hands.

So in short, the whole "He didn't establish himself in bounds" is pure and utter bullshit. Looks pretty ******* established to me.

And you'll notice the ref who made the bullshit call isn't even in the screen, and I also don't see his hat on the sideline anywhere yet either. The ref closest to the play signaled TD.
 
Being at the game they never showed any replay so all Steeler fans had no clue why when the red challenge was throw it was picked up. The official at Wheaton's side called TD so why wasn't it reviewed even if another called illegal touch, was a scoring play. The officials were lost on a few calls. The muff punt and TD one official ran on the field as if the ball would stay where muffed. A long conversation on that one. Tomlin asked for the officials to come to him on a few thing and they walked away. If you are going to put new officials on the field, they should be required for explanation on call they seem lost on. The Newton ruffing QB call , the ball had hit the ground, the ref was throwing it to the sideline and the head judge just then threw the flag. There were a few both way the fans wasn't sure what was going on.
 
http://www.pewterreport.com/forum/index.php/topic,1299936.15.html

Old TB thread which sounds like a similar call on a Mike Williams catch. Issue seems to be that the exception is if the receiver is forced out of bounds "by a foul". No penalty was called on the DB, therefore, no foul, therefore not "forced out of bounds by a foul". In their instance, Freeman may have been out of the pocket which allows bumping the WR past 5 yards.

I don't think this matches the description by the referee.

Exception: If an eligible receiver is forced out of bounds by a foul of the defender, including illegal contact, defensive holding, or defensive pass interference, he will become eligible to legally touch the pass as soon as he re-establishes himself inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands
 
View attachment 543I'm not sure how large this pic will be, but this is BEFORE he leaves his feet to make the catch, ball in the air, about a foot or two from his hands.

So in short, the whole "He didn't establish himself in bounds" is pure and utter bullshit. Looks pretty ******* established to me.

The image is clear when we click on it, but I looked at another camera angle and it explained what the ref may have thought he saw:

Blaine_levitation_1.jpg


P.S. Here is the image, full-sized:

attachment.php
 
So, the coaches film is out for the game, Wheaton has two feet down, and a good amount of space behind both heels with the ball still in the air on the way to him. I'm not sure HOW this isn't "re-established" in the field of play. This was a blown call, no dbout.

wheaton2.jpg
 
The play did not count for one reason or another. What I take away from it is that he MADE THE CATCH. He will be robbed a number of times in his career, get over it. He made the catch, he will make more in the future, as Ben seems to be getting more comfortable with him.
 
The play did not count for one reason or another. What I take away from it is that he MADE THE CATCH. He will be robbed a number of times in his career, get over it. He made the catch, he will make more in the future, as Ben seems to be getting more comfortable with him.

Hell of a catch too. Great reaction time
 
I don't understand the call at all. Obviously it wasn't called a penalty and he had re-established himself in bounds. So the refs explanation makes no sense. But I'm getting use to this **** not making any sense.
 
Simple it was a muffed call. I wonder if they huddled or reviewed the tape before reversing the TD call on the field. If they did not, I ask "why not Roger?"
 
I believe they did review it under the hood. If I remember correctly, they took a commercial break between this play and the eventual FG try that followed the official's explanation.

At this point I can only agree that this was a blown call, possibly due to the fact that this was a first-year officiating crew and they just blew it. I wish that there was more transparency from the League in terms of the weekly grading of the officiating teams, because if people (including the talking heads on all the sports shows) are going to spend a lot of time each week talking about the controversial calls, maybe it would be valuable to not just speculate but also hear about the feedback given to the officials and teams as well. I guess they won't ever do that because pointing out the officials' mistakes undermines their authority and opens up the possibility that someone will eventually have an undeniable complaint that officiating did have a little too much influence over a game's outcome. I prefer to think that holding the officials publicly accountable helps keep them honest because it removes the "good old boy network" aspect for the established crews - there's less likelihood that the long-timers get some kind of pass when they blow a call because it's all handled behind closed doors.
 
My thought was if you run out of bounce on your own you cant be the first person to touch the ball, period. I thought the refs messed that up.
 
My thought was if you run out of bounce on your own you cant be the first person to touch the ball, period. I thought the refs messed that up.

I think that is the crux of the matter. The exception seems to be that if you are forced out "by a penalty on the defense", you can then by the first. If you are forced out but there is penalty called, that seems to negate the exception and you are back to not being able to touch the ball.
 
Top